My First Wedding!!

My first experience with a wedding was my oldest sister Sherrie’s wedding back in the 60’s. Yes, that’s right, the 1960’s – shows my age, right? Anyway, I was only about 5 or 6 years old when I was privileged to be the ring bearer for my sister’s wedding.
Of course, being just a small fry, I was amazed, scared and delighted all at the same time! This was a special time for my family. All of our immediate family together at one time, with all 5 of Sherrie’s siblings participating in her special ceremony.
So, over 50 years later, Sherri and her husband James are still married, and have lived a very nice life, due to their hard work and stong Christian beliefs.
Or could the fact that I was involved have something to do with the longevity and happiness of their marriage? I know…sometimes I become delusional and amaze myself! Anyway, looking back, it was a very special treat for me to be in her wedding. I’d be very happy to be a part of your wedding. Please give me a call, and we can discuss your plans!

How To Get Married in Anderson County, Texas…

As of January 1, 2014, the fee for a marriage license is $82.00 (cash only).  However, there is a way to get part of this fee waived.  The legislature passed HB 2685 which authorizes a statewide initiative to promote “Healthy Marriages”.  You must have a Twogether in Texas certificate before the county clerk can give you the waived fee of $60.00.  The Clerk will only issue Certified Copies of Marriage License. For more information on where these courses are offered for TWOGETHER IN TEXAS go to www.twogetherintexas.com.

Click here to download a marriage application form

You must first obtain your marriage license by appearing in person at the Anderson County Clerk’s office, located at 500 N. Church Street, Palestine, TX 75801.  The phone number is 903-723-7402.  Office hours are 8 am until 5 pm, Monday – Friday, with a lunch break between 12:00 and 1:00 pm each day.

There is no blood test required.  Both members of the couple must appear in person, with a valid photo ID, such as a driver’s license or passport.  Once the license is granted,  the couple must wait at least 72 hours before getting married.  The license is valid for 90 days.

“I am not an attorney and can’t give legal advice”